So what’s been happening with this Grimm Project?

I know it’s been an age since a posted about this project. But there is good reason for this, it’s what I call ‘The call of the studio‘ or perhaps better still the ‘Pull of the paints‘ in other words when the studio beckons you not much writing happens!

I’ve been so enjoying creating the paintings for this project that it’s hard to find enough hours in the day to satisfy my need to paint. I sneak away to the studio in the evenings as I just can’t get enough of it during the day – oh it so beckons me and I love it!

So what’s been going on then I hear you ask? Well since completing Thousandfurs I’ve been working on Rumpelstiltskin, Faithful Johannes, and The Golden Bird. As with Thousandfurs the fairy tale and colour palette were randomly selected by someone else. Then I bring my creative workings to it. For each work I’m seeking out those elements of the story that resonate or that simply just seem completely odd to me! These are the things that appeal and encourage my painterly exploration.

In August 2015 I’ll be exhibiting the Grimm Project at Toi Poneke in Wellington, NZ. I’m very excited about transforming the gallery space into some weird and wonderful painterly fairy tale landscape. So best I get back into that studio but until then here are a few snippets of the aforementioned works in various states of resolution. I share these because I find the process of painting, of resolving and problem solving is just as interesting as the final works. So here is a little taster thus far… all will be revealed at the exhibition!

Detail of Rumplestiltskin

Detail of Rumplestiltskin

 

Studio view

Studio view

 

Studio view

Studio view

 

Studio happenings

Studio happenings

Leave a Reply

