Shaping up

Preparations are in full swing as I get ready for my exhibition at Toi Poneke in Wellington, NZ in August. The exhibition title is ‘Retold’ a most fitting title for a visual retelling of these tales indeed.

Of course the paint is drying slower than I’d like, the cold winter months reek havoc with certain colours. But hey if I have to take a heater to it I will!

This has been an immensely enjoyable journey interpreting the Grimm’s tales and one that I aim to continue for some time yet. Playing with painterlyness, drawing, texture, scrapping I love what paint has to offer.

And here is a little sneak peak of what I have to offer with it – enjoy.

Oh and there are some exciting developments a foot around my exhibition, I’ll be sure to keep you posted!

The golden bird

The clever fox from the Golden Bird – detail

The Juniper Tree - detail

The Juniper Tree – detail

Strong Hans in development (he's captured the boat now for the princess - but what's with the monkey?)

Strong Hans in development (he’s captured the boat now for the princess – but what’s with the monkey?)

Leave a Reply

