Sand in the Apricot Jam – artist talk

On Sunday 21st August I gave an artist talk at the National Army Museum in Waiouru, NZ. Where my work Sand in the Apricot Jam was being exhibited. It was great to be able to give the audience the background stories and historical references behind each of the paintings in this body of work.

IMG_4021

I think art, and in my case painting, is a great way to open up the dialogue about past events. It can allow us to play tribute to sacrifices made and reflect on the effects of these events on our families and our nation. We should never forget the great loss of life and the scaring that these events caused on so many souls.

IMG_4017

As the artist of this work I brings me great satisfaction when people who have seen the work and/or have listened to me speak about it,come to me and share their own family connections to the First World War. I love that art can facilitate such sharing of stories.

Leave a Reply

